Harris County Beekeepers Association Bylaws

Article 1 - Introduction

1.1 The name of this organization shall be the Harris County Beekeepers Association of Texas

1.2 It is a member of the Texas Beekeepers Association ("TBA")

Article 2 - Object

2.1 The particular objects for which this organization is formed are:

a. To elevate the standards of beekeeping.

b. To promote interest of large and small beekeepers alike.

c. To bring about a spirit of cooperation among members.

d. To extend opportunities in all phases of beekeeping and to offer assistance as needed.

Article 3

3.1 Membership shall be open to any person interested in beekeeping.

3.2 Any member in good standing may sponsor a person for membership.

3.3 By a unanimous vote of the association membership present at a duly called or regular meeting, a honorary membership may be bestowed on any person who has beneficial to the organization because of achievement of who is worthy of such an member or as specified by the Executive Committee.

3.4 To be a member in good standing, a individual's annual dues must be paid in full and cannot have had membership suspended or terminated, or have such action pending.

3.5 The Executive Committee may suspend a member for cause.  The suspension must be upheld by a two thirds vote of the members present and in good standing at the next regular meeting.

3.6 Any member may resign by filing a written resignation with the President or the Recording Secretary.

3.7 Each member in good standing shall be entitled to one (1) vote on any issue.

Article 4 - Officers

4.1 The officers of the association shall be President, First Vice-President, Second Vice-President, Recording Secretary, Corresponding Secretary, Treasurer, and Chaplain.

4.2 Only persons actively engaged in beekeeping activities and who are members in good standing for the 6 months period prior to election shall be eligible for office, or as chairman of standing committees.

4.3 The officers of the organization shall constitute an Executive Committee to come together on call by the President, or  by any three (3) members of the Executive Committee, for the consideration of special matters in the interim between regular meetings of the association and the Board of Directors.

4.4 The elected officers and standing committee chairpersons shall constitute a Board of Directors, which shall meet at least three (3) times per year.  Special meeting of the Board may be called by the President, or by a majority of the Board Members.

Article 5 - Duties of Officers

5.1 The duties of the officers shall be such as are implied by their respective titles and such as are specified in these bylaws.  Each officer shall keep accurate records of their work and turn them over to their successor.  All officers shall attend regular business meetings and regular meetings of the Executive Committee.  If an officer is absent for three (3) consecutive meetings of the Executive Committee and three (3) consecutive regular business meetings without a legitimate excuse, they may automatically be dropped from their office and their position filled as prescribed in Article 7.

5.2 The President shall preside at all meetings of the organization and of the Executive Committee and Board of Directors.  He/she shall appoint the standing committee chairpersons subject to the ratification of the Executive Committee.  The President shall sign all orders upon the treasury for the disbursement of funds as directed by the organization.  Past Presidents shall serve as members of the Advisory  Committee.  


a. The First Vice-President shall perform the duties of the President in his/her absence and shall act in an advisory capacity at all times.  In case of the death, resignation, or incapacity of the President, he/she shall become President for the unexpired term.  The First Vice-President shall be Program Director of the Organization.

b. The Second Vice-President shall perform the duties of the President and the First Vice-President in their absence and shall act in an advisory capacity at all times.  In case of the death, resignation, or incapacity of both the President and First Vice-President, he/she shall become President for the unexpired term.  He/she shall be Chairperson of the Membership Committee for the association.